B*witch | Book Review

Title: B*witch

Author: Paige McKenzie & Nancy Ohlin

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Witches, Mystery, LGBTQ

Expected Date of Publication: July 7, 2020

Synopsis:

A lone witch has powers. A coven has a multitude more.

New girl and secret witchl Iris just wants to get through her first day of school without a panic attack. The last thing she expects is to be taken in by a coven of three witches-soft-spoken Greta, thoughtful and musical Ridley, and fiery and spirited Binx. They may be the first witches Iris has met IRL, but their coven is not alone in their small northwestern town.

The Triad is the other coven at their school. When the Triad’s not using spells to punish their exes or break up happy couples for fun, they practice dark magic. The two covens have a rivalry stretching all the way back to junior high.

When tragedy strikes and one of their own is murdered, the rival covens must band together to find out who is responsible before it’s too late. Someone’s anti-witch ideology has turned deadly . . . and one of them is next.

With an inclusive cast of teen witches who leap off the page with style, attitude, and charm, B*Witch is a singable read perfect for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Mean Girls alike.


The thing about witchy books is that they catch the attention of readers as if they have a real magic and witchy spells.

I’ve read These Witches Don’t Burn as a YA witchy themed book and I instantly loved them. B*witch is a full feminist book with a mystery touch which is very exciting to read. The first few chapters talks about the three best of friends, their coven, their abilities, and their little bit of struggles in witching powers. Iris, a new student and also a witch, struggles with anxiety and uses her charm to relax herself. The multiple POVs kind of confuse me while reading and I didn’t get some of the vibes intended for the readers to feel.

I love the diversity and equality in this book. With a theme of LGBTQIA, I did love that this supports the community. I expect a lot on this book and to be honest, I’m kind of disappointed on some parts of the story but I really appreciate the friendship and the teen vibes this book gives. The spells feel realistic and how I wish there will be a separate part intended for all the spells mentioned. That is one of the great finds in this type of books, the history of the spells, the name of the spells, the power of them and the uniqueness and consistency in terms of the how the spell works. It is nevertheless a lowkey form of witch book, it is still a must read for everyone who loved this kind of theme.

Iris will be my favorite character. I like the impression of how delicate she is despite of her anxiety. The main characters have their own pace and I did like it. For me, it is like for a witchy themed book to be more superficial not only with the characters and the ideas but also the plot and how will the story end. B*witch will gave more of a mystery-sisterhood coven story and a queer type of angst and manifestations. Nonetheless, B*witch is a great read specially if you are more looking for friendship type and magical reads.

It is dazzling and fast pace coven story to read.


Buy B*witch:


About the Authors:

Paige McKenzie is a millennial hyphenate: a New York Times bestselling author, YouTuber, actor, influencer, creator, artist, producer. Her first book series, The Haunting of Sunshine Girl, was on the New York Times bestseller list for over a month. Paige is constantly creating. Her Etsy shop the Homebody Guild is full of her art and designs, and she is always updating it with new creations. Paige also interacts daily with her Sunshiners across a variety of media including YouTube (where she has over half a million subscribers), Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Paige is a founding member of Coat Tail Productions, with three projects in active development. Paige lives in Portland, Oregon with the love of her life, a seven-pound Chihuahua named Pongo.

Follow Paige McKenzie:

Nancy Ohlin was born in Tokyo and moved to the United States when she was nine. She has written, ghostwritten, or collaborated on over one hundred fiction and nonfiction books for children, teens, and adults, including her YA novels Consent, Beauty, and Always, Forever (Simon & Schuster). Most recently, she collaborated with Paige on The Sacrifice of Sunshine Girl (Hachette Books), Quvenzhané Wallis on the Shai and Emmie chapter book series (Simon & Schuster), and Chloé Lukasiak on her forthcoming memoir Girl on Pointe: Chloe’s Guide to Taking on the World (Bloomsbury). Learn more at nancyohlin.com and on Twitter (@nancyohlin).

Follow Nancy Ohlin:

One thought on “B*witch | Book Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: